Tags

, , , , ,

I vacillated between displaying photographs of my bedchamber, despite being my favorite part of my current home, but because it is also immensely personal. By the time I matriculated from the university in Interior Design, I, like all designers, developed their own personal aesthetic philosophy. I will not spend this post delving into all the nuances of my philosophy, but my style is vintage eclectic. The preponderance of antiques in my boudoir might be off putting to those with sensibilities that are more modern. As I adore history, especially family lore, it is really no surprise that there are heirlooms everywhere in my home; most are arranged in vignettes. True to my Victorian inspiration, displays are not symmetrical and there is a cluttered, albeit, organized ambiance.

My maternal grandmother’s sewing machine long held fascination for me as a child and I was delighted beyond belief when she just gave it to me when I moved out on my own. On the left is a tea set she received for an anniversary gift, alone with the gold inlay tray. Her wedding picture sits on the right in a “modern” frame.

My paternal grandmother’s 1930’s chest of drawers sits in the corner of my room. I use it as a vanity of sorts. The “modern” Faberge egg was a gift. The silver jewelry box was bequeathed to my mother upon the death of a family friend. The gold jewelry box sitting next to it was a holiday gift to my mother by the same person. The little lamp in the foreground was presented to me, one birthday by my favorite relative. She explained while it is actually a perfume bottle, it is meant to resemble a courting lamp used by the Victorians. She went on to explain parents lit a small oil lamp when the “young lovers” would meet, under supervision of course. Once the lamp burned out, it was time for the young gentleman to leave. The lamps usually lasted a half or three quarters of an hour. I found the whole idea terribly romantic! The framed picture on the right is that of my paternal grandmother.

The cedar hope chest is over 100 years old and belonged to my paternal grandmother as well. The top is a home-made dog bed, where my canine would sleep before he became geriatric. I thought the toile pattern would add a vintage feel. For the curious, the cedar hope chest houses my winter clothes.

The sconces were taken from my great aunt’s estate. I actually flipped them upside down as a preference. The painting is actually a print, purchased almost 20 years ago.

The real antique is the non-working clock in the back from my maternal grandmother. The lamp which is just antique-looking is also hers. I pleaded for her actually kerosene lamp but both my grandmother and mother forbade it, in fear I would conflagrate the house.

Lastly, my guests’ favorite article of my bedchamber is my maternal grandmother’s rotary telephone. The cord is frayed, but I have been told it is possible to get fixed in working order. As a hearing impaired person who does not converse on any telephone, I find it pointless, if not a bit ironic. I have it for sentimental reasons as well as for its sheer beauty and historical ties.

Goodness! This is quite a great deal of photographs for one small post! Usually people will know me for a year before I let them see this room, count yourself fortunate. I hope you enjoyed your glimpse into my boudoir.

