Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Literati Adult Book Club roll out occurred this past Monday, August 1st. This season’s theme is “The Life of a Reader: Cradle to the Grave.” We are going to explore various milestones in a person’s life; how the protagonist deal with these mile-markers, anecdotes of how we dealt with similar events in our lives, and how that relates to the wider world. So let us begin at the beginning: childhood. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain will be our premiere book. Guess who picked it? –Yup, yours truly! Naturally, I went with a book from the 19th century. This title was chosen for many reasons (13 reasons, to be exact). One which is the fact I’ve never read Tom Sawyer. Say what?! I know, it’s practically sacrilegious to mention in my line of work, but it’s the truth. I read sequel, The Adventures of Huck, in grade school and was not a fan. No girls in pretty dresses? No gentlemanly manners and pretentiousness? Then, no thank you!

For those unfamiliar with this “great American novel,” here is the synopsis from Puffin Classics (2008). “Tom Sawyer is sure to find trouble where ever the river leads him. . . On the banks of the Mississippi River, Tom Sawyer and his friends seek out adventure at every turn. Then one faithful night in the graveyard they witness a murder. The boys make a blood oath never to reveal the secret and the run away to be pirates in search of hidden treasure. But when Tom gets trapped in a cave with scary Injun Joe, can he escape unharmed?”

The picture below is my quasi-costume to hand out the copies to the Literati members. I promise, when the time comes, I’ll look more the part of the character, but for now this’ll have to do.

Tommy

Y’all are welcome to read along with the Literati and me this year. I’ll announce the titles as they come up, and post photographs of some of the meetings. Have your read The Adventures of Tom Sawyer already? What were your thoughts? Leave your response in the comment section below, I’d love to hear from you.

