Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last month I mentioned I had made the decision to slowly go organic in my lifestyle. This month I took the jump and purchased a few organic beauty items to start the trial and error period. As a woman who loathes shopping (YES! I hate it!) this trial period is not one I look forward to. I am more of a “formula girl” very “plug and chug.” My idea of a great organic product is entering in parameters (very pale, combination skin, lives in super dry/desert climate) and then having a specific brand/product that comes up that “magically” works that I can use forever. The end. Truth is, it doesn’t work that way. Just because something is organic does not mean it will do what you want it to for as long as you want it to. Perhaps you are allergic to a certain ingredient? A pesticide infused banana is just as bad as an organic banana if you’re deathly allergic to bananas to begin with! Organic is a “process,” what conditions the plants were grown and harvested. In cases of animals, if they were “boosted” with hormones or fed certain foods, etc.

Since this blog is 19th century orientated I had hoped to find organic beauty brands that have withstood the test of time. So far my discovery has yield just a paltry few. Instead, there are brands that use “elements” of the 1800s either in their process or packaging. I’ll highlight and review these brands occasionally.

Lulu Organics is one such “stretch” brand. It was started by Linda Aldredge, former beauty and fashion industry girl who wanted to get back to basics. Lulu’s claim to fame is hair care products. The 19th Century tie-in? The packaging! A line image of the infamous Josephine  Marcus, the wife of the most famous Deputy Sheriff lawless American West, Wyatt Earp, graces some of the products. Most of the designs emit an Victorian/Edwardian vibe. So not only are they good for the Earth and your body, but they look beautiful on your counter–because that’s important.

