Tags

, ,

FisherGirl-092So here is the story behind my previous alias/handle/call-sign/super-hero/blog-hostess name, Lady M. I started this blog after I had been with my . . . ex-fiancé (Oy! How it pains me to call him that!) for a year or so. I “always knew” he was the one and looked forward to taking on his last name, which begins with the letter M.

My own mother at first was not to keen on him, so when she inquired about the M in my alias, I . . . lied. . .  wait, no, that is not it. . . I “spun it to my favor” and told her it stood for my middle initial, which is also M. But truthfully the M was because of . . . my ex’s . . . oh for crying out loud, his name is Andy. . . Andy’s last name.

As to why I did not use my actual first name, nickname or initial, was because I thought it sounded silly with the title and in some variations the name had already been claimed by other businesses and blog writers. So it was to be M or nothing at all.

The Lady title was more fitting than Princess. I did not want to take on Duchess, which I associated with my blog-hero, American Duchess. Queen, Marchioness, and Vicountess seemed a tad too pretentious, it almost felt Napoleonic and one step away from crowning myself Empresses. Of course, people can do whatever they want on the blogosphere. Aliases, nom de plumes, and faux titles abound. I was trying to reach for something more attainable and a bit more realistic. Lady’s double meaning as a title and an adjective appealed to me greatly.

That is all well and good, but that alias is now a painful association with a dying dream. To distance myself and claim ownership of my life, image, and decisions, I have decided to adopt a new title: Doyenne! Similar to lady it basically means a respected and/or prominent woman, sometimes equated with ‘tastemaker’. That is right up my alley! All of it! The authenticity of attainability, a bellwether, posh and classy, wise and shrewd business woman. Yes, yes, and yes please! Much more in the vein of Mrs. Astor and Mrs. Vanderbilt.

For the record the English pronounce it DOY (rhymes with Toy)- enne (like Yen). It is a French word and the “correct way” has a slight nasally “w” sound more akin to Dwoy-enne. However, as a hearing impaired person the nasally aspect of the French language, much like the drawl and twang of the American South, sets my teeth on edge and makes it terrible difficult for me to understand. Thus, as I write 19th Century Modern, in my mind at least, I shall be saying “DOY-enne.” Not that you care, but just sayin’. You can and will pronounce however you like . . .

Lastly, the name change comes with an upgraded Gravatar. Gone is the Charles Dana Gibson’s Gibson Girl of yore. Now, ushered in is one of Harrison Fisher’s girls, who shares some resemblance to me. Some. Let us not get carried away and junk. –The Doyenne!

Until I take a suitable picture to replace the Fisher girl at some indefinite time in the future, she shall be the face of the New Era of 19th Century Modern.

