Tags

, ,

Mary Shelley in the 19th century. She looks a bit uncertain of her story (or maybe it is just her face?) but I can relate to uncertainty.

Dear Readers,

Another anniversary has come and gone, not only for 19th Century Modern, my own 33rd birthday, but also sadly today is the one year mark of the proposal that ended in a broken engagement. My heart caved in and my world exploded, not always for the best. This is a time for reinvention; a time to try and steady those spinning plates, streamline every aspect of my life, including 19th Century Modern. At this time, it seems infinitely difficult to keep an editorial schedule. Since I loathe to continue to over-promise and under-deliver, I will just say my visits here will materialize on their own time.

Expect a slow and steady, but complete revamping of 19th Century Modern. There will be a new look, a new name (mine, not the blog’s), the content will be more modern and far more personal, and more pointedly, you shall see a different writing style. While I do love my pretentious and formal vocabulary and sentence structure, I still feel it is forced and perhaps hindering flow and conversation. From this day forward, the writing will be in my vernacular, including new slang and *stage cues,* if you will. Essentially transferring my email and texting style to the blog.

Please be patient with me as I scramble to figure out “Who I am now” from my upended life. Can you believe a simple broken engagement would have caused such a massive upheaval in the lives of so many people? I never really considered it before, but I get it now. Obviously. I get it.

As I am fond of saying “What is death, but rebirth?” So everything is being streamlined. I am giving myself a year to clean out the closet, clean up my hard drive, clear out the garage, get my finances in order, everything! And I will devise a tentative plan for who I truly want to be and come into my authentic self. The Self part will not happen in a year, but I will start on it. Then again, maybe next year I will figure it out? Who is to say? This is just a journey that everyone ought to make, and have been making since the dawn of time. Every 19th century ancestor of ours had to figure it out, every contemporary should do the same thing.

So off I go! First up, cleaning the house (the physical is so much easier to deal with than the spiritual and emotional, no?)

Now . . . where did I put my Endust???

