Tags

, , , , , , ,

SDJune1896Cover

Yesterday, I planned for a relaxing day. I cleared my schedule, left the cottage untidy and went antiquing for half a day with my future mother-in-law, Sra. M. Oh my goodness! We went to more than half a dozen shops and I wanted EVERYTHING! I was restrained from the fact most of the stores did not accept anything but cash or check, as well as the fact I did not have space in my home for all the things I desired. She and I surmised we would just need to buy another house.–It seems like a legitimate alternative.

I did not leave empty handed. No, sir. We struck gold! On a lark, there was a box of magazines and papers on the floor underneath a beautiful roll top desk. There buried a inch down was . . .  The Standard Designer June 1896. A 199 year old fashion magazine! FULL of lithographs! My heart stopped. I could not breathe. Sra. M told me to calm down and she would take care of it. It is not in the best shape and, horror of horrors, some child used the pages as a coloring book! I nearly died. Regardless, we purchased it for $10. Ten bucks?! For a 200 year old periodical chock full of lithographs of Victorian fashion!–I AM TOTALLY GEEKING OUT RIGHT NOW!!!!

–Ahem. *collects herself*smooths skirt down to a more respectable level of dishevelment*–

Here are a few pictures of the periodical, because it needs to be shared. I cannot keep such fan-tab-ulous-ness to myself!

Title page

Title page

The equivalent of scratching your Ferrari!

The equivalent of scratching your Ferrari!

SDJune1896BustCane

Undergarments and Swimwear

Undergarments and Swimwear

Parasols

Parasols

Hats

Hats

Bicycles

Bicycles

More pictures will come throughout the year, as I am going to take it to my friend who is the director of the local historical society and ask how to preserve it.

