Tags

, , , ,

The Wedding Reception by Jean Beraud, 1900

I am beginning to dread these Wedding Wednesday posts as there is not much to report. We are currently on the hunt for a venue. Our choices are narrowed down to six locations within the state. Ambiance or “the look of the thing” is paramount for us (and by us, I really mean ‘me’). My Fiancé said he would be perfectly happy getting married in the garage in street clothes. While sweet, no. Just no.

This state does not have a long history of magnificent buildings dating back to the 19th century. Wedding venues are similarly more Western flavored or Tuscan. While beautiful in their own way, it does not emulate the British Victorian with Spanish Glamour I am hoping to evoke.

Notice I say “Spanish” and not “Mexican” as there is a difference. In this sense, Mexican refers to adobe-esque South Western architecture with terracotta tile or thatched roofs, it is a more rustic aesthetic. I believe the true category is referred to as Spanish Colonial, but someone please correct me, if I am wrong.

The Wigwam in Litchfield, AZ.

Hermosa Inn at Paradise Valley, AZ

I prefer Spanish like one would see in Mexico City. More European in its interpretation. More Baroque. (The photographs below are Baroque).

Palacio de Bella Artes in Mexico City, Mexico

Mexico City Metropolitan Cathedral and Tabernacle

My true preference would be the Crystal Palace from the 1851 Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations. Thank you Prince Albert for the inspiration! Or some similar grand estate, but not a castle per se.

A quaint little place to be united in holy matrimony, right?

Sandringham, UK, a Royal Residence because . . . well, why not?

I will more than likely have to compromise my idea, but we are looking at every available option at the moment. From wedding venues, restaurants, conservatories, historic federal buildings, historic hotels, country clubs, estate rentals, or possibly having something constructed in a vacant field. I am eager for the last option, but no one else to share my enthusiasm. Who knows? We might end up with something Tuscan after all? At this point, your guess is as good as ours!

