Tags

, , , , , , ,

Koodos, Luisi River, Zambesi Valley by Thomas Baines, 1874

This past Wednesday, I hosted another of my Literati Adult Book Club events, a regular popular library program. The season continues with the umbrella theme “Around the World in Eight Months.” Every book we read, we will be visiting another country in another continent. January landed us in modern day Nigeria, Africa as we read Sefi Atta’s Everything Good Will Come. Normally, each book club meeting is a big production complete with over the top decorations, book-related appetizers, and me in costume. Often we have an activity which can range from a craft, guest lecturers, singers, or other performers. For our African experience, we went with “a basic/straight-up discussion.” All it means, is there was no activity, but all other elements were at play. My goal, as always, is to immerse the reader to truly experience the book, to the best of my abilities and library budget.

So without further ado, here is slide show of the event. –For those interested, my costume was borrowed from my future sister-in-law, Srta. K and the head dress from her mother Sra C. Also, we had 23 people in attendance, which is wee bit low for us.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What I failed to take a picture of was the food. Our partnership with a local restaurant in town has proved wonderful! They specially make food for our gatherings related to country our book takes place in. The cook confessed finding African food for older American palates was quite the struggle. She need not have worried, her Moroccan meatballs and peanut soup were out of this world! Currently, my demographic tends to be women over the age of 60 who are rather dainty eaters. But my goodness! I had half a dozen ladies who went back for thirds. THIRDS!!! Unheard of!! I am so excited to tell the cook! Yes, I tried the food and yes, it did warrant third helpings. Of course, being the proper hostess I only ate a very small amount so the others could help themselves. *note to self* Must get a photograph or two of the food next time.

