Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Honeymoon by Harrison Fisher

I fear at times this is the slowest engagement ever. We simply have not had time to really discuss much between ourselves, nor our wedding planner. So there is not much to share for this post. However, this much I can report. My Fiancé and I have contacted our travel agent to discuss all the financial combinations and permutations of getting us a smoking deal for our honeymoon.

Early in our courtship My now Fiancé and I talked about weddings. He brought it up! I was too frightened to say anything related to the topic. On a whim, I queered what places he would like to visit on his honeymoon. He replied with Fiji, Australia, New Zealand, Bora Bora and Austria. Austria it is! All the other places he mentioned are full of sun, sand and surf. What a hellish idea! Who wants that?! Living in Arizona I see the sun far too often. Being a hearing impaired person who wears two hearing aids, all bodies of water make me leery (Remember electronics and liquids do not mix well. More importantly, I am more unsafe without my hearing aids in public environments. I would not be able to hear anyone yell “Shark!”–And it is important to me that I am able to hear such a warning!!) As for sand? . . .  Meh. To my credit, I would not pass up walking on the beach hand in hand in the moonlight without my hearing aids (The sound of the waves is akin to static or snow on the television for me. Extremely annoying.) The whole idea of a moonlit walk is romantic, but let’s get real, I am more of a mountain person. Despite being freezing at any given time of the day, I prefer snuggle weather. Full disclosure, I adore winter fashions! My vanity knows no bounds. All buttoned up. How sexy! How fun!

This will not be the Grand Tour or The Honeymoon Journey of the 19th Century. We shall not being visiting every country in Western Europe for three months to three years, as it was so popular amongst the aristocracy and people of money. They usually took their retinue with them during this phase. The honeymoon period during the Victorian was a rather ridiculous shopping trip, purchasing things for the house and having tons of crates shipped home, or if you were “really lucky,” your house was being built for during your holiday. You will read the upper crust said things like “Oh we bought this enormous rare marble fireplace in Venice on our honeymoon” or “We saw and purchased the Amber Room from France, had it dismantled and reassembled and installed in the house.” Oh, yes, of course! Don’t we all do that?

Well-connected couples of the 19th century made a point to not only visit the Top places in Europe, but also to visit with far flung family and friends; a higher end Wedding Journey typical of the period. Meaning, for those guests who could not attend the actually wedding, the newly married couple were expected to travel to visit as many of them as possible after the nuptials. These European visits of the wealthy demanded attendance at operas and galas held in their honor, or at least to beef up the head count.

Since Victorian courtships tended to be rather short (compared to the current average of 14.7 months long), the honeymoon allowed the couple could get to know each other better; intellectually and intimately (Obviously!. More power to the couple who could conceive an heir on the wedding night!) However, in ancient times the honeymoon was just one month long. Those were different time. In modern day, more and more people are delaying their honeymoon, not having one, or just taking an extended weekend for various reasons.

Soooo, My Fiancé and I will be headed to Austria for one to three weeks next winter! Yes, winter! My family was aghast at the season of choice, but as My Fiancé puts it “Given how you are always cold and I am always really hot, I know you will not stray far from me.” Yaaaaay, snuggle weather! My Fiancé is thrilled about the being in Mozart-central. I am thrilled to attend an opera in a grand European city! I so miss Europe. If you have been to Vienna, Austria I would love to get some recommendations from you for places to see and eat, things to do or try or buy.

