Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally! The photographs are in! Again, this is from the Literati Premiere last Wednesday. We also made the newspaper! Six columns and two pictures! Huzzah!

So without further ado . . .

Entering the Cloud of Sparrows

Entering the Cloud of Sparrows

The entryway door turned out surprisingly well! However, it begs the question; what mysterious scene of the far East lay in wait behind door number one?

*cue the mandolins*

*cue the mandolins*

Notice the Japanese cherry tree? The red temple streamers blowing in the breeze? The world map to document our travels? The crowd? This is just a fraction of our total headcount, the final number swelled to 46!

The ceremonial drums begin!

The ceremonial drums begin!

The above photograph has a much better view of the map.Two of the six tall geisha dolls in glass display boxes can be seen in this photo. Other items on that table were donated by the members. Notice some people in kimono-wear? Some brought there own and others wore the ones we supplied. You can catch a glimpse of the Postcard Station with its sign and the corners of the suitcase that offers up next month’s book. I was working in the traveling theme.

A view of the Partners

A view of the Partners

First, the bearded gentleman in the kimono? That is My Suitor! He donned one of my father’s “masculine kimonos.” When I had him try it on for dress rehearsal, I exclaimed he looked rather “badass.” The samurai were known for their exaggerated shoulder pads, but My Suitor is a football player and has broad chest and shoulders. He puffed up at my compliment and rushed to the mirror to check himself out. He smirked at his own reflection “Oh, yeeeeeaaah. I could kill someone right now.” He then wielded his make-believe sword, flexed in the mirror and confidently strolled out of the room. *sigh*boys* –The three maids in a row directly behind My Suitor are from the local historical society and this is a great shot of their table. They brought in items from the Japanese internment camps in town from the 1940s as well as other local Japanese tie-ins.

My Father, the presenter of Japanese weapons culture

My Father, the presenter of Japanese weapons culture

My father wearing one of his three black belts (that means he is a black belt in three different styles . . .well, he is a third degree in one style and a first degree in two; if you want to be precise. The table behind him is covered with 14 different swords and two pairs of nunchucks, one real wood, the other practice foam/plastic. At the end of the Literati meeting he offered to give away the practice nunchucks for all whom were interested. The men were elbowing each other to be first in line. These men, might I add, are all over the age of 40. Really, guys?! Just for the record the 75 year old beat the others to the first spot. When I inquired to my father later if there is an innate interest with boys and lethal weapons, he replied was (and I quote!) “You bet your ass! Things that can stab, slice, chop, maim and kill are waaaay cool. It’s imprinted on the male DNA and energized by testosterone.” When I put the question to My Suitor he summed it up, “Because swords are AWESOME!” –This actually reminds me of something Jim Carrey once said about the topic. “Anything right of above lethal is hilarious to guys!” He went on to mime for Oprah “killing” someone, quickly checking the pulse of victim, realizes the victim lives, proceeds to laugh his head off.–*sigh*shakes head in that condescending way of women*

Oh, hi there, young Samurai

Oh, hi there, young Samurai

Then there is me! The under kimono is cotton, the over kimono is silk. It was 117 degrees outside and not much cooler inside; I am quite please my face did not melt off. Please forgive the hair, I did my best. As I previously mentioned to create the pompador/bun style, but eventually gave up. Walking back and forth in the library after I was dressed created quite a stir. As it was lunchtime for the school (we are a joint library; public library attached to a high school) I had one teenage lady come running up to me eyes wide in awe. “Ohmygawd! I luv yer face!” She points. (As if I could not locate my face on my own.) I wonder if this look will start a trend?

Lastly here is the link to the newspaper article on our little shindig! It also reveals my true name for all those who ever wondered.

 

 

