Tags

, , , , , ,

In my goal to obtain my ideal healthy figure, I have been working out. . . a wee bit. Trying different things. So many of these exercises require too much effort *whine whine*whimper whimper* My aim is to create a plan of the least possible effort for the maximum results. Basically, I cut back on salt and use my pedometer to obtain 11,000 steps. Since the inception of this little plan, I have lost one pound a week for the past two weeks. Nothing terribly remarkable, but I’ll take it! I also have a sinking feeling I will need to increase both physical and gastronomical regime in a week or two when I plateau. I still have a few weeks before attending the wedding (any excuse will do) and a week after that is my birthday (a much better excuse)!

The Victorians also love to amble about. Although it was not for fitness; that is so pedestrian. If they wanted to look a certain way, they would mold their mode of dress with underpinnings and the like. No, the Victorians took to the promenade for vanity; to see and be seen. It was also a pleasant and socially acceptable way to meet people (although there are strict rules on public decorum, etiquette, and a dictionary’s worth of slights and cuts that I shall not get into). Walking showed off one’s dress and one’s figure; which could never fully be achieved riding in a carriage. In the Country, it was considered a wonderful pastime to take in nature and perhaps to be a bit rambunctious. Lastly and more practically, walking was a means of travel.

Having said thus, in the novel Pride and Prejudice, Lizzie Bennett tramps over to Bingly’s to check on her sister, Jane. It was stated the distance was almost half a day’s walk. This was actually a means of measurement, but I am unsure what the precise length would be. Often in the movie adaptations of the book, Lizzie is not exactly hustling over to the manor. She sort of moseys about, probably jumps in puddles, and takes her time getting there (the weather, I am sure, has something to do with it.) Fashionable ladies, or any Lady, for that matter, did not run, jog, or walk briskly. They were to be deliberate in their movements and mind their posture. I am pretty sure these ladies frolicked, skipped and actually ran in real life, but it would be unseemingly to say so, instead the printers excluded those actions as a courtesy.

I would prefer to carefully select a fashionable walking ensemble to stroll through the park, twirling a parasol and greet passers by with a gentile nod of my head, than the reality of donning a ratty oversized t-shirt and yoga pants, and trying not to jump out of my skin when a stray cat yowls and makes a mad dash in front of me to escape some unseen fright. Certainly adds a pep to my step!

 

