Tags

, , , , ,

The Letter by Albert Lynch (1851-1912)

During the course of my house warming party, I received a dozen presents or so. I was quite taken by surprise! Looking back, I did not specify ‘no gifts,’ so some guests brought house warming gifts while others did not. A social faux pas? I shall have to investigate! Now, Thank You Cards are in order. I researched the proper way to write one; of course I did.

  1. Always address the Gifter (Dearest Co-Work/Colleague)
  2. Express your gratitude. A side note; never mention a denomination of money. That is gouache. Also, if the note is for an intangible gift such allowing a person to stay the night, then address the “lack”/intangible first.
  3. Discuss how you will use the gift. In the event of monetary presents, do not itemize how the money will be spent. Again, it is not in “good taste.”
  4. Mention the past and allude to the future of the gift. Why did they give the gift? What does it mean to your relationship with the giver? For example; “It was great to see you at my house warming party and I hope to see you at the Company picnic next month.”
  5. Thanks again. It never hurts to express gratitude; but do not be so effusive as to overkill the sentiment.
  6. Regards/Signature (Kindly, Love, Yours Truly, etc.)

Bottom line, the missive should be succinct! A Thank You note, is not the platform to boast or detail other random happenings of your life. Save your personal correspondence and pretty stationary for such information. Lastly, if the person Gifter resides under your own roof, a Thank You note is not necessary. A hug or face to face thank you will suffice.

 

 

