Tags

, ,

The house warming party is days away! About 25 colleagues out of 70, have confirmed there presence for the gathering. The excitement and stress is palpable! The home decorating for this fete is more or less complete; there are still a myriad of things to put away and surfaces to clean. –Where on EARTH, is my Maid-of-all-work?!

But I must talk to the “Cook,” about the menu for the day. Things to consider; I have no skills in the kitchen, little children will be in attendance, my Muse, “Sleeping Beauty” was a French/German princess, lived in a woodland cottage. Soooooo . . .  this is what I came up with (try not to laugh):

  • Meat: Cold cuts; deli roast beef, turkey, and ham
  • Vegetable: Ants on a log (celery, peanut butter and raisins. Finger foods for the kinders. And the only thing I intend to ‘make.’)
  • Fruit: Green grapes
  • Dairy: Three types of cheese slices (including Limburger, if possible to add the “German” element)
  • Bread: Mini-croissants (to add the “French” element; and yes, I realize the bread’s true origin is Austrian . . . very French/German).
  • Nuts: Peanuts (The ‘woodland’ aspect)
  • Desert: Mini-fruit tarts (if possible; for the Princess-y aspect)
  • Beverages: Water and Sprite (Clear drinks to prevent staining should spills occur)

Voila! The succeeding house warming party in June (remember, I am throwing four fetes) will have more mature offerings. Nothing fancy and intimidating. That is for later.

During my research, I discovered the some entertaining rules of thumbs. Perhaps, you know these already, but I am a true novice. Consider how many people are planning to attend and only serve enough for 2/3; not everyone will eat everything. It was also advised to allot a quarter to a half pound of meat per person. Goodness! That will be a bunch of meat!! I sense lunch sandwiches in my future, and open face turkey sandwiches with mashed potatoes, or a version of a Philly Cheese Steak . . . I must stop, I am beginning to salivate at the thought. MOST unlady-like!

