Tags

, , , ,

Cartograph of the United States of America, 1854

Recall how I mentioned my interest in changing my occupation? This entails a move out of my current location. As a methodical person, *cough*cough*Type A* cough*cough* I systematically looked at the states near the Mississippi River and North of the Mason-Dixon Line, with the exception of North Carolina as potential places to settle down. I choose states with historic character in a climate that My Suitor could also comfortably reside. My first draft of the list included 23 states! Goodness!!! That is practically half of the country! It is one thing to cast a wide net in such matters, but it is quite another to flail about without direction. So I inspected my choices a bit closer. Which ones do I really desire to live in, the best for my future job, and also with good football prospects for My Suitor’s consideration? I narrowed the list down to 10 (which one “non-football” state, because I could not simply bear to leave it off the list).

My Top Ten in alphabetical order, like I do:

  1. Illinois
  2. Indiana
  3. Maryland
  4. Michigan
  5. Minnesota
  6. New York
  7. North Carolina
  8. Ohio
  9. Pennsylvania
  10. Rhode Island

After making this declaration, later that day I stumbled upon an annual list provided by This Old House with assistance from PreservationDirectory featuring the best historic neighborhoods in North America (so Canadian towns are included). It is fate, I am sure of it! They look for timeless neighborhoods with high quality constructed historic homes, an active preservation movement at affordable prices. Many are beautiful quaint towns within proximity to larger cities. The organizations surveyed historic societies, neighborhood organizations and non-profit preservation organizations to compile their list. So with my dual dream of living in an authentic Victorian home and working for a historical society, this list not only provides me with houses to fawn over, but a jumping off point to apply for employment! How marvelous is that?! As a future Historical Society employee, these are also wonderfully resources publications to be acquainted with.

Is your city on one of their lists? Tell me about it!

