, , , ,

It was the best of flags, it was the worst of flags, it waved in wisdom, it waved in foolishness . . .

Not many people outside of the British Commonwealth are aware England has two flags. More specifically, England has one flag; and the United Kingdom has another flag. See, the English flag is very simple depiction of St. George’s Cross. The symbol stems from the Crusades during the Middle Ages. It shows a red cross on a white background. This was actually a royal banner of the  royal house; which can change at monarch’s whim. It was not a “national flag.” In that regards, England has no official national flag. It still represents England and Wales as a unit.

In the early 1600s Scotland and England merged, and likewise so did their flags. The Scottish flag was a white cross/”x” on a blue background. The English version places the red cross in the foreground, while the Scots placed their cross/”X” in front. . .  of course. For about a century these flags co-existed peacefully. In the early 1800s Ireland was incorporated and St. Patrick’s cross was introduced to the fray. It is represented by the red cross/”X” shadowing the white Scottish cross/”X”. This is the flag we recognized as the Union Jack. It depicted the union of England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland. However, Ireland ceded in the early 1920s, but the flag remains the same. It is currently referred to “the flag of United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.” The Union Jack is flown in all the countries that are part of the British Commonwealth; the United Kingdom. So . . . . in essence, England has two flags! Now you know. Happy Flag Day!