Tags

, , ,

While Memorial Day is predominately in remembrance for the fallen military men and women, I personally am not aware of many soldiers in my family tree during the 19th century. I shall have to do more researching and maybe come Veteran’s Day, I shall have something to report. In place of soldiers, I do have citizens from the late 1800s-early 1900s. These photographs are from my dear Father’s maternal side.

The cast of characters in question, as per the family tree:

Cyrus CLARK b. 23 Aug 1837 West Virginia Married his second wife on 6 Feb 1875 Philena Victoria GLENN b. 3 April 1845 Missouri

  • Hattie CLARK b. 5 Mar 1876 Oregon Married on 12 Mar 1895 to Henry Smith b. 7 Jan 1874

Lester SMITH b. 2 April 1896 Oregon

North SMITH b. 20 Dec 1897 Oregon

William SMITH b. 16 Feb 1900 Oregon

Walter SMITH b. 2 Sep 1902 Oregon

Ralph SMITH b. 15 May 1912 Oregon

  • Kate CLARK b. 31 Oct 1882 Oregon-d. Jan 1971
  • Wilda CLARK b.27 Mar 1885 Oregon Married on Oct 1911 to Walter BRIGHT b. 21 Jul 1870 (My Great-Grandmother and Great-Grandfather. Went on to have three daughters, of which the middle one was my Grandmother; Father’s Mother).
Cyrus Clark, Wilda Clark, 1893 Sublimity, Oregon

Cyrus Clark, Wilda Clark, 1893 Sublimity, Oregon

Moving in. Homesteaders, threshers, and families, oh my! Cyrus is on the right foreground with the long beard. Wilda is in a pinafore also in right corner of the shot.

Left to Right: Cyrus, Philena, Hattie w/ Walter, William, Lester, North, 1904/1905

Left to Right: Cyrus, Philena, Hattie w/ Walter, William, Lester, North, 1904/1905

Notice the wood planked sidewalk. I am not sure if they all lived in this house or if Cyrus and Philena were just visiting. This is in Oregon. I like the simplicity of the home.

Sister and Wilda, 1907

Sister and Wilda, 1907

Wilda and sister, we think this is Kate, but we are not sure.

Wilda and mother, Philena, 1904

Wilda and mother, Philena, 1904

Wilda with her mother Philena Victoria Glenn Clark (by far my favorite name on my father’s family tree!)

Walter Bright, 1900s

Walter Bright, 1900s

Walter Bright, the man Wilda married. Supposedly, he was a shady character. My grandmother remembers him as an absentee father who “traveled all over the the United States conning people.” He had a thing for saving menus from his travels . . . It is not certain just what he sold or how he got by. I do know that Wilda had to get a job to support her daughters and the shame and stigma of “Mama having to work was something her parents never got over.” It still pained my late grandmother to discuss.

Wilda and Sister, 1900s

Wilda and Sister, 1900s

By far, the oddest picture of the bunch. Wilda and sister, we think it is Kate again, but we are not certain. In a carriage in front of the same house as previously seen, wearing . . . somberos. Your eyes do not decieve you. Those are somberos. How did they acquire somberos in the 1900s we are not certain, as they lived their entire life in Oregon. We are assuming someone took a trip to Mexico and brought back gifts. . . I would love to know the story behind those hats.

 **For All Those Who Served and Their Families and Those That Knew Them, I Am Deeply Grateful, Humbled, And Honored For Your Sacrifice**

