Tags

, ,

Building of Avenue de L'Opera, Butte Des Moulins, 15th October 1876 Giclee PrintMy municipal employer is more like a large town, while my hometown is in suburbia of the capital city. The community I serve seems to be of two minds. It is adamant about preserving its agriculture and rural flavor while also aspiring for the high culture of the Capital. The views are so contrary and cannot co-exist peacefully. My employer must grow or maintain its current standing. Personally, I would adore to see the town grow larger. No need for high rises, but large enough for population to appreciate and support higher culture.

How did they accomplish growth during the Industrial Revolution? How do we repeat their success of modernizing and “cultivating” a middle class, without the enormity of conflict and vices that crop up as a by-product? Is it even possible?

The successful explosion of cities is commonly contributed to factories and railroads. Factories equal employment and product. Private parties and entrepreneurs funding a product idea. They saw profit in the long-term and invested as they saw fit. Railroads came about through long toil and a lot of resistance. However, their ease of transporting goods and people increased at alarming speeds. The effort to build the railroads and its accommodating businesses also produced numerous job opportunities.

Knowing this how do I apply this to my employer city? How do I apply this to the library in terms of growing and building up programs and the like? . . . I am thinking . . . trains . . .

