Tags

, , ,

Jesus is not here, He has risen! –Easter, the time of joy, forgiveness and thanksgiving. As with any religious holiday, it is a reason for new frocks, bonnets, and other accessories, as the Victorians would do. Everyday pageantry was elevated to an art form during the 19th century. Any event located in the church had its own criterion; modesty and femininity dominated the fashions in the pews. The daily ware of bonnets, gloves, and shawls continued on Sundays, but with finer fabrics, cuts and trims.

As for my own Easter, I donned my new hat and church attire. I received a multitude of compliments from the churchgoers on my “Downton Abby” millinery choice and my spring dress. After service we brunched at a nearby restaurant where we expected to wait awhile to be seated, but were surprisingly shown our way to the patio immediately. I remarked to no one in particular about this turn of events when the waitress leaned over and whispered “It was the hat!” Ah! I must remember this now, fancy hat equates with quicker service! After brunch, I drove to My Suitor’s town to visit him and his family. I was besieged by the ladies of the house upon entering, fawning all over my millinery. I had to giggle at so much attention. “Oh! And your dress!” The ladies at the dinner restaurant exclaim. I shall not lie, I am not used to such effusive attention and quite revealed in it for a bit. It was nice to be recognized individually in that town, as opposed to getting stopped by some fan of My Suitor. My Suitor is a local celebrity and yes, we did have about three or four people who came up to greet him and shake his hand. Ah, such is the life.

Now to end the suspense of the appearance of my Christmas hat that the ladies from Victorianachronists have been awaiting; here are the photographs taken hastily prior to church service. Beneath the slideshow are copious notes on the details for those interested.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shoes: The brand is Two Lips, purchased ten and five years ago. They have always been referred to as “My Pretty Little Princess Shoes.”

Gloves: My late grandmother’s summer gloves from the late 1930s-early 1940s.

Reticule: This 1980’s gold beaded number was borrowed from my mother.

Necklace: Blush pearls from My Suitor as a Christmas present.

Earrings: Gold, opal, and pink sapphire studs also borrowed from my mother.

Millinery: The hat that was gifted to me last Christmas and I have been eager to wear ever since. Bought at an antique store in Chicago, by a friend of a friend. I am not familiar with the history of millinery, but whomever has more knowledge, I would love to be able to date the hat style; if not construction.

Dress: Modern, off the rack, lace and blush confection

