Tags

, ,

Before Ralph Lauren, before Alexander McQueen, and way before Carolina Herrera, there was . . .  Charles Worth! Never heard of the dear fellow?! Shame on you! Any one of note, knows Mr. Worth, why he is The Father of Haute Couture! He was an Englishman who settled in France; and they say those countrymen are rivals? Bah! He designed for royalty, the wealthy, and the stage actresses in the second half of the 19th century. Often taking inspiration from portraits of long dead European monarchs. He is noted for his fit, elaborate trimmings on lavish fabrics. He set the standard and displayed his new ensembles on live models.

His works leave me speechless. The attention to detail is exquisite and painstaking. From his day dresses to his evening and costumes; all are a sheer work of art. I envy those with the skill and talent for dressmaking. I have reams of fashion designs created by my own hand and no seamstress of which to speak of. For the time being, I shall just drool in an unlady like manner all over Charles Worth designs.

Day Dress. Yes, I see myself visiting the market in this little number . . .

Day Dress. Yes, I see myself visiting the market in this little number . . .

Evening Dress. Nothing says a grand entrance like a Grand Entrance

Evening Dress. Nothing says a grand entrance like a Grand Entrance

Wedding Dress. It puts Princess Di's wedding dress sleeves to shame!

Wedding Dress. It puts Princess Di’s wedding dress sleeves to shame!

