Tags

, , ,

Given I pray I will be changing residences this year, I consented to accompany My Suitor to a New Year’s Eve bonfire his peer was hosting . . . again. After toiling for the day, I met him at his mother’s house for New Year’s feast with their immediate family. It was so entertaining! The spread was wonderful! Steak, potatoes, beans, salad with fruit, and an ambrosia-esque dessert. We shared family stories and discussed our love of donning millinery. His mother is eager to attend one of my book clubs at the library since dressing the period is encouraged and she wants to wear her new hat! Teehee! Laughter all around! It was marvelous.

The Moon one hour til the New Year

The Moon one hour til the New Year

After our repast, we headed to the more provincial area. His bosom friend lives out in the Country with his family and menagerie. The whole affair was rather casual and amusing. Since our journey was long, My Suitor and I opted not to imbibed, for safety reasons. The provincial setting is always calming and the view of the heavens is magnificent! If only I knew the names of all the constellations, I could see clearly with my own eyes, why, I would have lost count. The setting was rather romantic under the twinkling stars. It was reminiscent to the first evening My Suitor and I began courting, but I digress. The Bonfire was enormous! More importantly it was warm. Guests sat around chatting and singing Weird Al songs and quoting films from the 1980s and 1990s, their children ran around climbing trees and generally having a grand time. Someone casually inquired to the building crowd what everyone’s New Year resolution is. Some called out the old stand-bys of weight loss and such. When it came to My Suitor he said flatly, “My resolution is 1280 x 720.” Another gentleman next to us guffawed. It took me a beat or two to catch the meaning. Other people were in their cups and telling hilarious stories around the bonfire. My Suitor took up the role of tending to the fire along with a few other gentlemen. Not recalling the proper term, I asked him “Are you stroking the fire? Or stoking the fire? Are you a stroker or a stoker, like Bram.” He laughed heartily, “Ah, you and your library humor.”

Remnants of bonfire two hours prior to 2013

Remnants of bonfire two hours prior to 2013

Since My Suitor’s peer dabbles in pyrotechnics, he made quite the production at midnight with a fabulous show of fireworks. Of which I was so dazzled by, I forgot to take a photograph of the moment! The irony, really. Once home we had a glass of wine and toasted the incoming year full of possibilites. Welcome, 2013!

