Tags

,

Often times people will ask me why my fixation on England during the 19th century and not America. If one can recall their history classes, America during the 1800s was still infantile and rugged. During the course of four years in the middle of the century there was a little skirmish called the Civil War. Personally, I am not one for bloodshed and death. However, I greatly respect those that serve and honor their country in this way. Luckily, there are hoards of Civil War enthusiasts who can discuss the fine points of every aspect of the struggle, so I do not feel the need to enter my voice in the discussion.

Below are excerpts from The New York Times Complete Civil War 1861-1864. I apologize for the trimming the last line on the first page. For those interested in what was occurring in December 1862 prior to uniting the states:

Civil1

Civil2

